The depot, which is located to the right of the current library, was constructed in the late 1880s by the Carolina Central Railway.
The town's official name became Matthews, in honor of Edward Watson Matthews. The population was growing; stores sprang up and Matthews was on its way to becoming a bustling community. The charming Reid House was built in 1890 by Edward Solomon Reid.
As the land was cleared for planting, so many tree stumps were left standing that the early settlement was unofficially known as Stumptown.
Postal records show in July 1825, John Miles Fullwood was appointed area postmaster. Fullwood operated a stagecoach depot, store and post office from his home.
Navy seaman Frank Wood died in World War II attack at Pearl Harbor. Ralph Norman, Republican from Rock Hill prompted social media outcry after putting a gun on a table at Rock Hill Diner during voter meet-and-greet.
His remains will be buried in Franklin, NC, on Saturday.. Astronaut Mark Kelly, husband of Gabby Giffords, criticized Norman on Twitter.
By the early 1800s, this rich and inviting land attracted our early settlers, who were mainly farmers.